Humble Media Genius

About Ruff Ruffman: Humble Media Genius

With generous support from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, WGBH brings you this media literacy project for kids 6-11.
Picture of Ruff doing yoga

This is a pilot – a test – with Ruff Ruffman videos looking at the red-hot topic of how kids can and should use media and technology. Our first videos focus on texting, sharing photographs, using search, and finding an appropriate balance of technology use.

On this site you can also find resources for parents and teachers.

Check out our latest work looking at Distracted Driving!

Visit our production blog for more detailed project information.

Project Credits

Picture of Ruff and Chet eating ice cream

Ruff Ruffman: Humble Media Genius was devised and produced by Bill Shribman, co-written with Gentry Menzel, designed by Dan Nolan and Tara Taylor, and developed for the Internets by Kevin Lesniewicz.

Animation was created by Flaming Medusa Studios Inc. and Global Mechanic and post-produced by Arnie Harchik and Mark Geffen.

Music was created and performed by Moby with additional tracks from Kit Buckley and Gentry Menzel.

Special thanks go to our friends at PBS KIDS team for their support.

Brigid Sullivan and Terry Fitzpatrick is and/or are and/or were the Vice President(s) for Children's Media and Educational Programming.

Jim Conroy is the voice of Ruff Ruffman.

Major funding for Ruff Ruffman: Humble Media Genius is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

Also for WGBH, in Order of How Many Letters Are in Their Names:

Erin Lee
Gene Lee
Alan West
Amy Green
Amy Stahl
Anna Fort
Deb Frank
Maya Gaul
Bara Levin
Kara Brady
Molly Hall
Glen Berger
Jay Fialkov
Kaja Fickes
Nathan Long
Norah Jones
Amy Stockman
Bharat Battu
Caroline Lee
Denise Olson
Dennis Biron
Evie Kintzer
Jay Thompson
Jeff Bartell
Laura Nooney
Mandy Miller
Michael Raia
Nike Okediji
Pat McDonald
Andrea Morris
Chris Dietlin
Frank LeClair
Jessica Fjeld
Karen Baseman
Tristan Walsh
Cynthia Broner
Natalia Miller
Sue Kantrowitz
Carol Greenwald
Molly McDonough
Sylvia Castillo
Melissa Carlson
Belinda Arredondo
Carolyn Gallmeyer
Michael Steadman
Brenda Burke-Lyons
Denise Descoteaux Olson
Cindy Wittman Zollinger


Animation is by Flaming Medusa Studios Inc. and Global Mechanic.Animation Direction by Darcy Vorhees. Storyboard by Darcy Vorhees and Tom Beuerlein. Layout/Animation by Tom Beuerlein and Matthew Augustin. Production Assistance by Amber Nicole Childers.


Picture of Ruff and Blossom as detectives

Sherri Hope Culver, Director of the Center for Media and Information Literacy at Temple University and president of NAMLE.

With support from:
Dr. Urs Gasser, Executive Director of the Berkman Center at Harvard University

Michelle Ciulla Lipkin, Executive Director, National Association for Media Literacy Education

Dr. Amy Jensen, Department Chair, Theatre and Media Arts, Brigham Young University

Dr. Alison Head, Information Scientist at Berkman Center and Executive Director of Project Information Literacy at the University of Washington.

Dr. Carla Martin, Department of African and African American Studies, Harvard University

Dr. Rey Junco, Education & Human Computer Interaction at Iowa State University

Ken Denmead, publisher of GeekDad

Vicky Rideout, VJR Consulting

Joi Podgorny, Director of Community Engagement at Smart Bomb Interactive

Ana Lilian Flores, founder of Latina Bloggers Connect and Co-Founder,

Anastasia Goodstein, author and Vice President of Digital Services at the Advertising Council

Dr. Claire McCarthy, Medical Communications Editor, Children's Hospital, Boston

Sandra Cortesi, Director of Youth and Media, Berkman Center at Harvard University

Dr. Julie Frechette, Professor of Communication at Worcester State University

Dr. William Yousman, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Frank Baker, President of the Media Literacy Clearinghouse

Many Thanks Also Go To:

Griffin Quasebarth (Intern/Intergalactic Space Hero), PBS LearningMedia, Marnie, Lucy, Zoe, Belhina, Nicole, Jackson Mann K-8 School, DxB Boston, JOCAM, Pine Hill Elementary School, Apprentice Learning,,, Dr. Julian McDougall, Marketa Zezulkova, Monica Bulger, Dr. Sonia Livingstone, Dr. Jarmo Viteli, Erin McNeill, and the Berkman Center at Harvard University.

Back to Top