PBS Kids GO! It's My Life
Meet the Mentors
Home
Friends
Family
School
Body
Emotions
Money
Parents and Teachers

Female mentor Joyce

About Me:
I learned to speak English in the 4th grade. I'm from Hong Kong, so my native language is Chinese...but I also speak French! My favorite subject in school is Math but since 2nd grade, my passion has always


What Is It's My Life?
Meet the Mentors
Contact Information
Experts and Advisors
Awards and Accolades
Special Thanks
Staff Yearbook
Reprinting Permission
been politics. I saw politicians on TV and secretly hoped to be just like them one day.

Hobbies:
I'm interested in every aspect of horses: breeds, behavior and stuff. I love to work with horses and riding lessons are the highlight of my week. I also play tennis.

Community Service:
I have community service experience fighting for children's rights. I've helped fight against child abuse and continue to work improving the life of children all over the world, especially in less developed regions.

Goals:
I want to study economics and political science at an Ivy League school, then earn a Master's or Doctorate degree. Later, I might volunteer in the Peace Corps and after that, take an active role in politics. I want to run for Governor, then Senator and finally, I want to be a member of the Cabinet.

Female MentorJulissa

About Me:
I’m 17 years old and I live in the Bronx, NY, with my mother and my two brothers. My brothers are 23 and 13 years old. I go to a private all-girl high school and am graduating next year! My favorite food is Chinese and I love my mom's home-cooked Hispanic food.

Favorite…
TV Show:
"Friends," "Smallville"
Music: I like all types of music!

Goals: I love working with kids and I want to become a pediatrician in the future.

Female MentorKatie

About Me:
I am a very outgoing person and love the simple things in life
-- just lying in the grass is enjoyable to me! At the moment, I'm living with my Mom and brother but I'll be moving out on my own when I attend college in Seattle or Virginia. I plan on majoring in either business or art. We'll just have to see which one sparks my interest the most!

Hobbies:
I love a lot of things and am always willing to try something once. My favorite things to do is pottery on the wheel and I love traveling. I believe that seeing other places and having new experiences can only better you as a person.

Favorite…
TV Show:
"Friends." I hope that when I get older, I have friends who are not only that real, but who care about me as much.
Music: American Analog set, Ani Difranco, The Get Up Kids, and other underground music along that line.
Movie: "Drop Dead Fred" and "The Breakfast Club." They're classics that I find myself watching over and over again!

Goals: I set goals for myself on a daily basis. I think the biggest one is to get through college and feel that I've accomplished something that could make or break the rest of my future.

Female MentorKerri

About Me:
I just turned 16 and I am in 11th grade. I have one older brother named Justin, who’s in his first year of college, which is difficult because I’m not used to being an only child, and I miss him very much. I’m a high school cheerleader, and have been for the past three years. I am very passionate about helping others. Last year my history teacher told me that I am a very compassionate person and that I should consider psychology/social work as a career path. Since then I have been looking into how I can get involved with helping other people.

Favorite…
TV Show:
"Alias," "The O. C.," and "Friends"
Music: Maroon 5, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, Citizen Cope
Books: "The Lovely Bones" by Alice Sebold, "The Witches" by Roald Dahl, and EVERY Harry Potter!

Female MentorLeah

About Me:
I'm a freshman in college. My folks are divorced and I have one younger sister. In my spare time I like to read, talk to my friends, do gymnastics, volunteer, and chat online.

Favorite...
Quote: "If I am not for myself, who will be for me, but if I am only for myself what do I amount to. If not now, when?" Avot 1, 14
Books: "Alicia, My Story", by Alicia Appleman Jurman, and "Ender's Game", by Orson Scott Card
TV Shows: "ER" and "Full House"
Movie: "Erin Brockovich"

Female Mentor Lindsey

About Me:
I love to be outdoors in the sun. I live with my parents and I'm close with my older sister, who's 19 and in college. I think school is hard but I always try my best. My motto is: "Everything happens for a reason."

Hobbies: I love photography and helping children.

Female mentor Lisa

About Me:
I live in New York and have a twin brother, plus a younger brother, too. I live with both of them and my parents. I plan to be attending college in the fall of 2005!

Hobbies: I like going out with my friends to the mall, movies and dinner. I am also into sports such as tennis, softball, and basketball. I am on the Girls Varsity Tennis Team. I am an active member in DECA at my high school and Best Buddies, too. They both are involved with helping developmentally disabled students.

Favorite…
TV Show:
"7th Heaven," "Friends," "The Real World"
Movies: "Dirty Dancing," "Zoolander"
Authors: David Pelzer and James Patterson
Songs: "Tipsy" by J-Kwon, "Burn" by Usher, and "I Don’t Want To Know" by Mario Wyans
Quote: "Promise me you'll never forget me, because if I thought you would, I would never leave." --A.A. Milne

Goals:
To be successful in the field of education, and to graduate from college with a degree in Pre-Law. I’d also like to be happily married and loved by the age of 30!

Female Mentor Lychele

About Me:
I live in New York City with my mother, father, and twelve-year-old sister, and I'm a senior in high school. My favorite subjects in school are English and History, and in my spare time I enjoy drawing. I also volunteer for the New York City "Youthline," a 24-hour anonymous telephone help hotline for young people.

Favorite...
TV Shows: "Gilmore Girls" and "One on One"
Music: I listen to all different types of music.
Book: "To Kill A Mockingbird" by Harper Lee
Movie: "Love and Basketball"

Female Mentor Megan

About Me:
My name is Megan and I live with my parents, my younger sister, and three cats. I like school, and my favorite subject is math. After school I volunteer as a tutor. I also volunteer at a really cool place that makes old toys look new for kids who can't afford new toys.

Hobbies: I like to talk on the phone and hang out with my friends at the movies. I also like to go to the beach.

Favorite…
TV Show:
"7th Heaven" and "The Simpsons"
Music: My favorite band is the Counting Crows and my favorite singer is John Mayer. Movie: I enjoy all kinds of movies!
Book: "The Fearless Series" by Francine Pascal

Goals:
I would like to go to college and become a lawyer.

Male Mentor Mikey

About Me:
I have a sister in college and a younger brother, who is still in elementary school, so I'm the middle child. I have a dog named Sasha and a cat named Shakira (my mom named it). I've lived in Los Angeles my whole life and I've been going to the same school since kindergarten.

Favorite...
TV Show: I don't really have a favorite TV show, but I really like "The Simpsons" and MTV's great.
Movie: I love "Snatch." and all of the Monty Python movies.
Music: I don't have a favorite band, but I love hip-hop, techno/trance, and Incubus.
Book: I don't have a favorite book, but I love Gary Larson and "The Farside."
Goals: My goals are to get into a good college like UCLA and to break some school records at my school for running.

Female mentor Natalie

About Me:
I live in southern California with my Mom, Dad, younger sister, and my younger brother. I have another sister, my older sister, who lives in Sonoma for college. I’m in 10th grade and participate actively in my school’s Drama Department. I love to hang out with my friends because without them I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Favorite...
Music: I really like all kinds of music. I mostly listen to the alternative genre and show tunes. My favorite song is "Hold My Heart (Part One)" by Letter Kills.
TV Show: "Lost," "Greek," "Gossip Girl," "Scrubs," "The Office," "Desperate Housewives," "Friends."
Books: The Twilight Series, The A List series, "What Happened to Nancy," "The Giver," "Gathering Blue," "A Wrinkle in Time," "The Merchant of Venice," and many, many more.
Plays/Musicals: "The Crucible," "Rumors," "Mack and Mabel," "Legally Blonde the Musical," "Bye Bye Birdie," "Bat Boy," "Hairspray," "Little Shop of Horrors," "RENT," "Chicago," "Kiss Me Kate," "Miss Saigon," "Seussical," and many, many more!

Goals: At the moment I’m hoping to get through high school while soaking in every moment of it. I hope to get into a great Acting or English/Literature college. After school I hope to either be an English or Drama teacher or an actress.

Female mentor Sarah

About Me:
I live with my parents, and my little siblings -- they're twins, a boy and a girl. I'm older than my siblings by 10 years, so they can drive me a little nuts, but we all tend to get along. I'm having a pretty awesome time in high school, and I can't wait to start grade 11. I read a lot, and I'm currently writing a book, called "Betrayal". I also write a lot of short stories. Swimming's my sport. If I'm in the water, I'm happy.

Hobbies:
I like to hang out with my friends (we're all really close), sing, go to a school event called "Coffeehouse" (which is a bunch of performers getting together for one night a month), swim, read, write, and ride roller coasters. (I especially like the roller coasters with huge drops.)

Favorite...
Music: I listen to a lot of '60s to '80s rock, but I also like some of the new rock music. I don't like the new pop music, but the older stuff is all right. My favorite band is Our Lady Peace, and my favorite song is "Bittersweet Symphony" by The Verve.
TV Show: "House," "The Simpsons" (but not the newer episodes), "Bones," "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation," "Supernatural," and "Smallville."
Books: "Pet Sematary" and "The Stand", both by Stephen King. My favourite author is Gail Giles - I absolutely love her books! (There's too many to name them all here.)

Goals: My goal is to become a criminal trial lawyer, and write popular fiction books. I want to get the book I'm writing published before I'm 20 and my book of short stories published before I get out of high school. I also want to move to Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia; I was born in Nova Scotia, it's beautiful there, and I want to live there for the rest of my life. I want to travel the world, though, and see everything there is to see.

Male Mentor Stephan

About Me:
I am a musician of all genres of music. I play all percussion and some strings. I live with both of my parents and my sister. I also have a guinea pig (Caspian) and a rat (Algonquin).

Hobbies: Music, computers, music, web design, music, reading…and did I mention music?

Favorite…
TV Show:
I don't watch much TV but I guess it'd have to be "Dexter's Laboratory"
Music: Everything from Classical to Death Metal
Movie: "Armatige" I and II as well as "Akira" (I'm a big Anime fan)
Book: "Technogenesis" by Syne Mitchell

Goals:
To get accepted to a good music college and ultimately open up my own recording studio.

Female mentor Tiffany

About Me:
I live on the East Coast and I'm a sophomore in high school. I have two goldfish, and three best friends! My favorite subject is Computers.

Hobbies:
My favorite hobby is listening to music, but I also likes to play all sports, especially softball.

Favorite...
Music: I love all music!
TV Show: "Malcolm in the Middle" and watching pro football and basketball.
Movie: "The Inkwell"

Back to Top

Previous | More Mentors  


Copyright © 2005 CastleWorks, Inc. All Rights Reserved.